UFC 271 medical Suspensions: Derrick Lewis receives 60 day, and two fighters are given indefinite suspensions


Derrick Lewis won’t be on the sidelines for too long after suffering a second-round KO loss to Tai Tuivasa this past Saturday.

According to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Lewis was removed from UFC 271 for a period of 60 seven days. Tuivasa was only suspended for seven days after the victory, even though he made some great shots in the first round.

Headliners Israel Adesanya and Robert Whittaker were issued suspensions until Feb. 28 following their five-round battle for the middleweight title. Adesanya successfully retained his championship via unanimous decision.

Two fighters were given indefinite suspensions following the UFC’s February PPV event. Marcelo Rojo — who was submitted by Kyler Phillips in the third round of their bantamweight matchup — and Maxim Grishin, who defeated William Knight via unanimous decision in the event’s opening bout, could be out of action for the foreseeable future.

Medical suspensions were released on Tuesday by official ABC record-keeper mixedmartialarts.com. The TDLR does not disclose details of the injuries.

See the full list of UFC 271 medical suspensions below:

Israel Adesanya: Suspended until Feb. 28

Robert Whittaker – Suspended to Feb.

Tai Tuivasa Suspended up to Feb.

Derrick Lewis Suspended Until April 14

Jared Cannonier: Suspended until Feb. 20

Derek Brunson Suspended Until March 15

Renato Moicano: Suspended until Feb. 20

Alexander Hernandez Suspended to March 15

Bobby Green Suspended Until Feb. 22

Nasrat Haiqparast is suspended until February

Andrei Arlovski: Suspended until Feb. 22

Jared Vanderaa Suspended up to Feb. 22

Casey O’Neill: Suspended until Feb. 22

Roxanne Modafferi: Suspended until Feb. 22

Kyler Philips: Suspended to Feb. 20

Marcelo Rojo: Suspended indefinitely

Carlos Ulberg Suspended Until Feb. 22

Fabio Cerant: Suspended up to Feb. 22

Ronnie Lawrence: Suspended until March 6

Mana Martinez: Suspended until March 6

Jacob Malkoun: Suspended until Feb. 22

AJ Dobson Suspended Until Feb. 22

Douglas Silva de Andrade – Suspended up to March 30

Sergey Morozov – Suspended to March 30

Jeremiah Wells: Suspended until Feb. 20

Blood Diamond Suspended Until Feb. 20

Maxim Grishin: Suspended indefinitely

William Knight Suspended Until Feb. 22