‘How is that not intentional?’: Pros react to controversial end to Martin Buday vs. Chris Barnett at UFC Vegas 51


Martin Buday was well ahead on the scorecards at UFC Vegas 51 when he dropped an illegal elbow down onto the back of Chris Barnett’s head.

But despite being the one who committed the fight-ending foul, Buday still left victorious.

After Barnett fell to his knees and prompted an end to the contest, veteran referee Dan Miragliotta deemed Buday’s elbow to be accidental. That sent the result to the hands of the judges, as more than two rounds had passed. To the horror of Barnett, Buday won a technical decision by sweeping all the scorecards.

Miragliotta’s decision triggered a firestorm on social media over the definition of accidental foul and whether or not the fight should have resulted in Barnett being disqualified. Check out reaction to the controversial finish from UFC heavyweight champion Francis Ngannou, light heavyweight contender Jamahal Hill, and more notable names.