Daniel Dubois’ team will challenge the result of the fight with Oleksandr Usik

Daniel Dubois’ team disagrees that the body kick that sent Oleksandr Usik to the canvas in the fifth round came below the belt and was illegal.

“I don’t think it was a punch below the belt,” the Brit said in a post-fight interview. “I think I got hit and I was robbed of the win tonight. What else can I say?”

The Brit’s trainer, Don Charles, studying the replay, was simply furious.

“How can it be low?” the specialist was indignant, watching the video. “You can see everything here. The hit was perfectly legal. Where is it low?”

The British boxer’s promoter, Frank Warren, has announced that they intend to appeal the result of the fight and file an appeal.

“His victory was stolen from him,” Warren stated. “The punch came at the belt. That’s something he’s been working on in training camp. By punching through the body, he saw that that was his weakness.”

After being given five minutes to recover, the Ukrainian boxer, who holds the WBA, IBF, WBO and IBO heavyweight titles, returned to the fight and changed tactics, picking up the pace and pressing his opponent more, making it as difficult as possible for the Brit to work the body.

Dubois failed to regroup and at the end of the eighth round he was knocked down, and after the break he fell once again, missing a jab, as a result of which the referee decided to stop the fight, recording Usik’s victory by knockout.