Bellator 277: Vadim Nemkov still champ after Corey Anderson’s accidental head-butt forces no-contest


Bellator’s light heavyweight grand prix remains up for grabs after an accidental clash of heads resulted in the final between champ Vadim Nemkov and Corey Anderson being declared a no-contest in Bellator 277’s headliner.

Anderson had taken side control and was attempting to punch the downed champ when he missed, and his forward momentum took his head right into the brow of Nemkov. Anderson complained immediately of a head clash and Frank Trigg, referee, called in a doctor at the cage to examine Nemkov’s left eyebrow.

Check out the sequence.

The doctor examined the cut once more and stopped the fight. Because less than three rounds had elapsed in the five-round fight, a no-contest was required as not enough rounds had elapsed for a score. When he realized the outcome of the title bout, Anderson reacted angrily, throwing his water bottle across the cage.

Later, the champ and still-challenger squared off after the bout was announced as a no-contest to the boos of the audience. The $1 million prize offered to the tourney’s winner will not be awarded just yet, though Anderson was scheduled to take home a higher purse than the champ on paper.

According to official scorecards posted by Bellator, the fight was tied 19-19 on scorecards before the unfortunate ending. As Nemkov tried to correct himself, the American wrestler used his grappling skills to score several points and gain takedowns.